Skip to content

Honorable Louisa Arcand, retired judge and legal counsel

Background

Honorable Louisa Arcand

Retired Judge and Legal Counsel

Specialized in family mediation
Private mediation and strategic advices
Services offered in English and French
More than 30 years of experience


The honourable Louisa Arcand obtained a certificate in administration from McGill University in 1985 followed by a bachelor’s degree in law from the University of Montréal in 1991. During and after her studies, she also taught at Montmorency and La Salle Colleges. She was admitted to the Québec Bar in 1993.

Prior to becoming a judge, the honourable Louisa Arcand practised family law during her career as a lawyer for the firm Arcand, Iasenza. She was one of the first lawyers in Québec to offer mediation services, and she has supervised the training numerous other family mediators throughout her career.

In June 2009, the honourable Louisa Arcand was named Judge of the Superior Court of Québec. During her tenure in the judicature, she presided primarily over family law cases. She has also mediated numerous settlement conferences offered by the Superior Court. A settlement conference is an alternative dispute resolution method through which litigants may settle their differences accompanied by their lawyers in the presence of a judge, who facilitates the process of arriving at a settlement. This proven method of dispute resolution enables the parties to a dispute to arrive at a settlement in the majority of cases, in a way that is faster and in a more cost-effective manner. With her background in mediation and then in presiding over settlement conferences as a Judge of the Superior Court, the honourable Louisa Arcand

The honourable Louisa Arcand is now a retired judge. However, she continues to share the experience she has acquired over an extensive career with parties who wish to settle their disputes through mediation. The private mediation she offers may take place either here in the conference rooms of Brigitte Brunet Avocats or in the offices of any other lawyer involved in your case.

Furthermore, as a lawyer-in-counsel of Brigitte Brunet Avocats inc., the honourable Louisa Arcand offers both strategic and legal counsel for our lawyers and clients.

Aller au contenu

Honorable Louisa Arcand, juge à la retraite et avocate-conseil

Background

Honorable Louisa Arcand

Avocate-conseil et juge à la retraite

Spécialisée en médiation familiale
Médiation privée et conseils stratégiques
Services offerts en français et anglais
Plus de 30 ans d’expérience


L’honorable Louisa Arcand a obtenu un certificat en administration de l’Université McGill en 1985 et un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Montréal en 1991. Parallèlement à ses études, elle a enseigné au Collège Montmorency et au Collège La Salle. Elle a été admise au Barreau du Québec en 1993.

Elle a pratiqué en droit familial durant sa carrière d’avocate au sein du cabinet Arcand, Iasenza. Rapidement elle s’est intéressée à la médiation familiale qui s’est ajoutée à son offre de service. D’ailleurs, elle a supervisé la formation de plusieurs autres médiateurs familiaux.

En juin 2009, elle a été nommée juge de la Cour supérieure du Québec. Pendant sa longue carrière de plus d’une décennie à titre de magistrate, elle a siégé principalement en matière familiale. Elle a aussi présidé de nombreuses Conférences de règlement à l’amiable (CRA) offertes par la Cour supérieure. Une Conférence de règlement à l’amiable est un mode alternatif de règlement des litiges où les justiciables discutent de leurs litiges en compagnie de leurs avocats et avocates et d’un juge qui les assistent dans la recherche d’un règlement. C’est un processus qui a fait ses preuves et qui permet dans la majorité des dossiers d’obtenir une solution acceptable pour chacune des parties, et ce plus rapidement et à meilleurs coûts. Ce mode de règlement des litiges fut tout naturellement un véritable coup de cœur pour l’honorable Louisa Arcand.

L’honorable Louisa Arcand est maintenant juge à la retraite. Cependant, même à la retraite, elle souhaite continuer de partager son expérience acquise tout au long de sa carrière. C’est pourquoi elle offre de présider des médiations privées pour les parties désireuses de solutionner leurs litiges. Les médiations privées qu’elle préside peuvent être au choix des parties à même la salle de conférence du cabinet Brigitte Brunet Avocats ou directement au bureau d’un des avocats ou avocates responsables du dossier.

Au surplus, à titre d’avocate-conseil, elle offre au personnel du cabinet Brigitte Brunet Avocats des conseils stratégiques et juridiques.